Skip to content

What I want to say

January 9, 2011

I notice that my husband is getting inundated with attention. I mean, it’s to be expected. His little blogariffic thing is picking up steam, naturally. I go look at who’s leaving comments, and a majority of them are women who are trying to lose weight, too. (Aside: When I tell people that my husband’s lost 175 pounds this year, the most common question I get is, “How?” When I say, “Diet and exercise,” their faces usually fall kind of flat. Look, I’m sorry he did it the hard way.)

Anyway,  I go look at their blogs, their thoughts – and on most of them, I see goals listed. Things that they’re gonna do when they lose weight. Like there’s some awesome, skinny person just caged inside, waiting to be freed from the bonds of a fat body.

This makes me incredibly sad. Be yourself now. Be awesome now. Love yourself now. Stop thinking that everything’s magically going to be better when you lose weight.

You have to start now with the body you’ve got.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tonya permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:02 pm

    You touched on something that I’ve been yo-yoing with for years. Be happy now despite being chubby. OR wait for things till after I’ve lost some weight. Like right now, I really want to go buy a new outfit or two. But I don’t want to buy clothes to fit my bubble butt. I wannt buy clothes to fit the me I want to be.

    Unlike your hubby, I have very little will power and self-restraint. He needs to figure out how to bottle that crap!

    • January 26, 2011 11:27 pm

      That’s one thing I think is semi-okay. If you’re on that path and it’s working, sure, wait. But if you’re trying and trying and making yourself miserable over it…you know, I don’t think it’s worth that. It’s like people who keep that one last pair of skinny jeans in the closet. Give ’em away. Holding on to something that might not even come back or come at all makes me sad. Self-acceptance is a tough road.

  2. February 21, 2011 5:34 pm

    i completely agree. i am a female reader of will’s who is (always) trying to lose (at least a little) weight. every morning when i look in the mirror and my automatic reaction is some form of negativity, i try to tell myself – look, this is what you’ve got today. this really isn’t so bad. be ok with this and the path you’re on. it isn’t the easiest, but there’s no point spending your time denying yourself things/experiences and happiness because of something as trivial as weight. note: weight, in my book, does not equal health. health is not trivial – a number on a scale is.

Leave a Reply

